This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Next Meeting

RASC February Meeting

The Halifax Centre will be holding its usual monthly meeting on Friday, February 16.

NOTE THE NEW TIME!

Part 1: Imaging Workshop with Blair McDonald

Join Blair McDonald for the fourth in a series of 45-minute image processing sessions before the main meeting. Topic: A look once again at image stretching. Please bring your laptop and a few images you want to process.

Time: 7:00 - 7:45 PM

Part 2: Members' Meeting

Have you been wishing for summer to arrive, dreaming of those clear nights and warmer days? Perhaps we have the answer for you! Come join us in reminiscing the summer past and wishing for the upcoming summer.

First up? Member and talented videographer Halley Davies will present the second video shot this summer by the Centre - The Magnificent Sky: A Weekend in Keji Dark-Sky Preserve. Come see the result of her great work! If you saw her first production, you know you will be thrilled with this one.

Following her presentation will be a presentation by master astrophotographer Blair MacDonald - Astrophotographer's Skies, Summertime Imaging.

Time: 8:00 - 9:30 PM

Atrium 101, Atrium Building, St. Mary's University

(Map)

Dates of future meetings are:

Friday, March 16, 2018

Friday, April 20, 2018

Friday, May 11, 2018

No meetings in July and August.

Friday, September 21, 2018

Friday, October 19, 2018 (tentative)

Friday, November 16, 2018

Friday, December 7, 2018 (tentative) Annual General Meeting

IYA logo

Astronomy Nova Scotia

________________________________

About Monthly Meetings

Regular meetings open to everyone. Note that we have recently changed meeting rooms! They are held at Saint Mary's University in Room AT101 (Atrium Building). Meetings are held monthly (except July and August) beginning at 7:30 PM, normally on the third Friday.

A typical meeting consists of one or more feature talks. The main talks cover a variety of topics ranging from astronomical stamps to the latest advances in the space sciences. Shorter talks also cover a variety of topics such as: "what's up in the current sky", the latest astrophotographs by club members, or the unveiling of a new telescope.

Observing Night at Saint Croix Observatory

Members may be found observing at the Saint Croix Observatory on almost every clear, dark night. Once a month, we encourage members and their guests to congregate at SCO, at which time new members are particularly welcome. Upcoming Observing Nights are:

Upcoming Observing Nights

(weather permitting, alternate is following evening)

Fri. January 19 (alternate Sat. 20)

Fri. February 16 (alternate Sat. 17)

Fri. March 17 (alternate Sat. 18)

Fri. April 13 (alternate Sat. 14)

Fri. May 11 (alternate Sat. 12)

Fri. June 15 (alternate Sat. 16)

Fri. July 13 (alternate Sat. 14)

Fri. August 10 (alternate Sat. 11)

Fri. September 7 (alternate Sat. 8)

Fri. October 12 (alternate Sat. 13)

Fri. November 9 (alternate Sat. 10)

Fri. December 7 (alternate Sat. 8)

Members are advised to sign up to the email discussion list to keep up to date on gatherings of fellow observers. For more information, contact the Observing Chair, Tony McGrath.

Library Talks