Chant Medal (established in 1940)

This medal is awarded, not more than once a year, to an amateur astronomer resident in Canada on the basis of the value of the work carried out in astronomy and closely allied fields of the original investigation and specifically not for the services of the Society, worthy though these may be.

2002 - Dr. Roy Bishop
1996 - Dave Lane
1993 - Mary Lou Whitehorne

Ken E. Chilton Prize (established in 1996)

Awarded for a specific piece of astronomical research or work carried out or published recently

2014 - Kathryn Gray, Nathan Gray
2010 - Paul Gray, Dave Lane
2008 - Paul Gray
2003 - Michael Boschat
1995 - Paul Gray & Dave Lane

President's Award (established in 2008)

Given at the President's discretion, usually once a year, to a member (or members) who has/have made an important contribution to the Society

2023 - Judy Black
2013 - Dave Lane

Qilak Award (established in 2010)

Recognizes individual Canadian residents, or teams of residents, who have made an outstanding contribution, during a particular time period, either to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy in Canada, or to informal astronomy education in Canada, and to promote such activities among the members

2024 - Tony Schellinck
2017 - Paul Heath

Service Award (established in 1959)

Awarded to members of the RASC in recognition of outstanding service at either the National and/or Centre levels

2023 - Quinn Smith, Chris Young
2021 - Blair MacDonald
2016 - Paul Gray
2015 - David Chapman
2014 - Mary Lou Whitehorne
2009 - Clint Shannnon
2001 - Dr. David G. Turner
1998 - Dave Lane
1995 - Patrick Kelly
1993 - David Tindall
1988 - Dr. Roy Bishop
1964 - Father M.W. Burke-Gaffney

Simon Newcomb Award (established in 1978)

The award was created in 1978 by the National Council of the RASC on the initiative of the RASC Halifax Centre. The Simon Newcomb Award is intended to encourage members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada to write on the topic of astronomy for the Society or the general public, and to recognize the best published works through an annual award.

2020 - John A. Read
2016 - Martin Hellmich & Halley Davies
2004 - Mary Lou Whitehorne
1986 - David Chapman
1979 - William J. Calnen